Inner Peace is a Personal Choice

happypic

For years I struggled with finding and keeping some level of inner peace. I spent so much time working for validation from my parents and others in my circle that I completely forgot to live up to the standards that I created for myself. I was consistently stressed as I carried around the burden of not being able to fail without criticism.

I remained in relationships that no longer had my best interest at heart because I worried about the reactions of others. How would they see me if this failed? How will I survive by myself? I didn’t know how to change a tire. I have never taken my vehicle for an oil change. How would I survive without a second income? Who would protect me? I allowed the fear of hitting the reset button to completely hinder my personal growth. As years passed, I realized that I was unhappy with who I was. I did not possess inner peace. After another lengthy “discussion” with my parents about my degree concentration in college I realized that I needed to make some changes in my life. 

After migrating to the US in 2007 I enrolled in community college to save on tuition. The intention was to study for two years then transfer to a 4 year institution. My brother was at the same school, and he chose to study civil engineering.  He has always been the numbers guy. He is calculated and approaches everything from a logical standpoint. I immediately pictured him in that field. I chose biology with the intention to eventually become a dermatologist. I wouldn’t say I was pressured to take that route, but even though I made straight A’s I was never passionate about the field. We were socialized to believe that there is a certain prestige that comes with being doctors, lawyers, engineers etc.,  while other areas of study is seen as degrees with less clout. I chose the field for that reason. I wanted my parents to be able to say “my daughter is a doctor”. That tunnel vision made me miserable. What is my passion? I absolutely love Anatomy and Human Physiology, but I am more interested in the mind body connection. I want to understand the ‘whys” rather than the ‘hows’.

I decided to change majors…Psychology and African Studies with the intention to focus on mental health illnesses in people of African descent. This time I didn’t ask permission. I left my partner. I didn’t apologize for it. I removed people from my life who no longer aligned with the plans I had for myself, and came to terms with the fact that sharing DNA doesn’t mean I have to provide blind loyalty. I developed a thicker skin at work and also spoke up when I felt the need to. I reconciled all the other issues that I had with myself. I became comfortable with my flaws. I created a standard for myself that was not hedged on the way anyone felt about me. I held myself and others accountable. I made a decision to put my needs ahead of everyone’s for the first time in my life.

It is difficult to put into words the contentment I feel. I truly believe that now I am finally heading in the right direction. I am at peace with my decisions and I understand it is completely fine to live on my own terms.

Be selfish. Love yourself FIRST. You will make mistakes. It is ok.

xoxo

Sam

 

 

One thought on “Inner Peace is a Personal Choice

  1. Sheema says:

    As if your a microscope hovered over my life. We are connected, I swear. Being unapologetic is hard in our culture. I’m still working on it; each day more special than the previous.

    Like

Comments are closed.